The Daylight Award 2022 launched on 16 May, the UNESCO International Day of Light. The Award honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. It places specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice.

Established by the philanthropic foundations, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, and endorsed by the UIA, it is conferred biennially in two categories: The Daylight Award for Research and The Daylight Award for Architecture.

The Daylight Award for Research rewards an individual or a group of researchers whose work demonstrates a focus on the impact of daylight on human health and performance. Nominations from researchers from all fields, including natural science, human science or social science, are welcome.

The Daylight Award for Architecture rewards individuals or a group of architects or other professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of and dedication to daylight.

The Daylight Award actively solicits nominations from professional organisations, architects, researchers and other professionals with expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture. The Award also accepts individual nominations from professionals.

Launch - 16 May 2021
The deadline for nominations - 30 September 2021
Jury meeting - November 2021
Announcement of Winners - 16 May 2022

Anne Lacaton (France), Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes
Dorte Mandrup (Denmark), founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen
Marilyne Andersen (Switzerland), Professor and Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Gerd Folkers (Switzerland), Professor, ETH Zurich
Russell Foster (United Kingdom), Director, Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology & Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institut, University of Oxford
Juhani Pallasmaa (Finland), Architect
Koen Steemers (United Kingdom), Professor of Architecture, University of Cambridge

For more details, please visit see the Daylight Award website.